The division of Muslim votes worries the opposition parties


Political experts believe that with political parties fielding Muslim candidates, the splitting of Muslim votes is imminent. Take the case of the Behta assembly constituency where the BSP aligned Rayes Malik while the SP-RLD alliance aligned Umar Malik Khan. AIMIM nominated Amzad Ali as its candidate. Similarly, at the Dhaulana headquarters, BSP fielded Wasim Pradhan, SP-RLD Aslam Ali and AIMIM Haji Aarif as candidates for the respective parties.

In Siwalkhas, the BSP gave tickets to Mukarram Ali, the SP-RLD alliance to Gulam Mohammad and AIMIM to Rafat Khan.

In some seats, the BSP and the SP-RLD fielded Muslim candidates. As in Nazibabad, the BSP fielded Shanawaz Alam while the SP nominated Taslim Ahmad as its candidate. In Thakurdwara constituency, the BSP candidate is Mujahid Ali while the SP fielded Nawabjaan. In Chamrauwa, the BSP nominated Abdul Musataf Hussain as a candidate while Nasir Ahmad is a BSP candidate. Md Naved Ayaz is a BSP candidate from Amroha while SP fielded Mehboob Ali. In Meerut West, BSP’s candidate is Dilshad Ali while SP fielded Md Adil.

Similar competitions between Muslim candidates are possible in the constituencies of Kol, Aligarh, Moradabad (city), Moradabad (rural), Nakud, Kundarki and Loni.

Election commission records show that there are 70 constituencies where the Muslim population is between 20 and 30 percent, while 43 seats have more than 30 percent Muslims. There are 36 seats where Muslim candidates win the elections and in 107 seats Muslim votes are important in deciding the results of the poll. Also, there are 143 seats where Muslims impact hustings.


Comments are closed.