Rockingham County and Area News Briefs | Community


RCS Teachers of the Year

The School-Based Teachers of the Year for Rockingham County Schools were voted by fellow faculty members for the 2022-23 school year. Beginning teachers have been nominated by their principals and mentors to compete for the RCS Beginning Teacher of Excellence award in 2022-2023.

The teachers of the year 2022-2023 of each school are:

  • Early Leaving: Kristy Ellison, Early Leaving Rockingham County
  • Primary schools: Kelly Toney, Bethany; Bethany Hudson, center; Jessica Flynt, Dillard Academy; Jessica James, Douglass; Elicia E. Knight, Huntsville; Dawn Tuttle, Leaksville-Spray; Lauren Hill, Lincoln; Becca Isley, Monroeton; Sara Andrews, south end; Taylor French, Stoneville; Beth Washburn, Wentworth; and Sarah Canady, Williamsburg.
  • Colleges: Brittany Evans, Holmes; Samuel Boerboom, Reidsville; Pam Porter, Rockingham County; and Dawn Crumpler, Western Rockingham
  • High Schools: Ryan Stevens, McMichael; Nathan Hines, Morehead; George T. Murphy Jr., Reidsville; Apple Taylor, Rockingham County; and Anna Micciulla, Rockingham Early College.
  • Alternative School: Angela Boggs, Booker T. Washington Learning Center/SCORE

People also read…

  • UPDATE: Doctors full of hope as Tonya Murrell battles to recover from accident that claimed the lives of her husband and two others
  • Former NC NAACP leader, Greensboro pastor Reverend Anthony Spearman has died
  • 911 calls made the week before Spearman’s death add a layer of complexity
  • House overwhelmingly approves bill to protect same-sex and interracial marriages
  • An elite academy in Greensboro will now welcome immigrant children. People have questions. But no one answers.
  • Another contract, this one for $177 million, awarded for services at the Greensboro site for unaccompanied migrant children
  • Pioneering soloist Nancy Carree Wilson of ‘Gospel Expo’ TV fame dies at 73
  • Private meetings shed light on new Greensboro facility for immigrant children
  • The 50 Best Public Colleges Ranked From Most Expensive To Least Expensive
  • 15 dogs seized in High Point; owner faces dogfighting charges
  • Alcohol appears to have contributed to Monday’s fatal head-on collision in High Point, police say
  • After Roe reversal, all abortions ‘lead to and through North Carolina’
  • Ticket prices for Bruce Springsteen shows irritate some fans
  • ACC Commissioner Jim Phillips Addresses Greensboro Headquarters Move
  • Man arrested after spraying himself with gas and shooting a gun in the Eden area

The nominated teachers of the year are selected by their peers for the quality of their teaching, their professional development, their teaching philosophy and methods, their involvement in the community and their contributions to education. A central office administrator committee selects five finalists from the list of Middle School Teacher of the Year nominations, one of whom will be chosen as the RCS Teacher of the Year and be named North Carolina Teacher of the Year. .

The 2022-2023 Beginning Teacher Excellence Nominations are (not all schools elected to nominate a Beginning Teacher Excellence Nomination): James Fain, Holmes Middle; Susana Martinez, Leaksville-Spray Elementary School; Jakayla Clyburn, Morehead High School; Justin Cunningham, Reidsville Middle; Debra Price, Reidsville High School; Chelsie Ziglar, Rockingham Middle; and Chelsea Daniels-McGirt, South End Elementary.

Rockingham Blueway Guide unveiled

The Rockingham County Center for Economic Development, Small Business & Tourism and the Rockingham County Tourism Development Authority announced the release of the new RoCo Blueway brand which comes with the new RoCo Blueway guide.

The new blueway branding was put in place to give Rockingham County blueways their own distinct identity. The branding consists of a new RoCo Blueway logo, color scheme and slogans including “Go with the RoCo flow” and “Rock the RoCo”. After extensive research, a vintage industrial feel was chosen for the overall brand theme to help capture and connect the logo and brand with the factory and industrial history of Rockingham County.

Blueways are navigable water trails based along rivers or lakes that include multi-activity recreation and nature-based tourism. Rockingham County’s blueways are 88 miles and over 4,500 acres of thrilling water adventures and are made up of the Dan, Haw, Mayo and Smith Rivers as well as Belews Lake, Hunt Lake and Reidsville Lake.

The new RoCo Blueway guide was developed to replace the old Rockingham County Blueway guide with a new look and layout. The guide now includes comprehensive safety guidelines and detailed trip summaries, including clearer roadblock warnings, skill level recommendations and gives users an estimated journey time to ensure they are prepared . The new guide divides each river and lake into easy-to-read, color-coded sections and also lists information on local outfitters and accommodations.

Copies of the guide are distributed throughout the state and Triad region.

Locally, copies can be found at every river and lake access point, government offices, chambers of commerce, hotels, shops, restaurants, and local breweries and wineries. To request a copy, call 336-342-8138. It is also available online at


Comments are closed.