Kent League Round-Up: Hayes crowned Premier Division champion


Hayes Cricket Club are the 2022 Premier Division champions, having been promoted last season, having reached an unassailable run total, with one game remaining, beating already relegated Beckenham, by 66 runs, after their nearest fell challengers, Minster (Sheppey). by just nine races at Bexley.

Hayes’ success has been a great team effort throughout the season, with Kent’s Alex Blake and former Kent Second Eleven all-rounder Will MacVicar leading the way. MacVicar scored an excellent century, 108 with eight limits and two sixes, in visitors 271 for 8, Gareth Severin 47, Alex Senn 3 for 67, Harri Aravinthan 3 for 42. Then Blake took 4 for 30 and MacVicar 3 for 34 , as the bottom club were knocked out for 205 in 49.3 overs, Aravinthan 70. Hayes winning the title in style.

Minster’s challenge ended at Manor Way, when they were just short of 247 for 9, after Bexley posted 256 for 6 with Aiden Griggs 108 not for the home side, with nine fours and two sixes , reaching his century with a six hit on the floor. Joe Parry 3 for 54. Minster’s hopes of victory faded in the opener, James Thompson was out for 95, after hitting seven sixes and five limits, Ian Sell 48 not.

Sandwich saved themselves from relegation fears with an important and timely 86-point win at home to Lordswood. Jake Smith made 89, Kai Smith 43 and Zak Fagg 43 in their 241, Moeez Raza 3 for 44, former Kent Academy scholar Hugh Scott 3 for 48, but the visitors could only make 155 in response, Michael French 40, former Kent Second Eleven player Jan Gray 3 for 15.

Bickley Park now appear to be the other side to fall after losing by three wickets to Blackheath at Rectory Field. They scored 240 for 9 from their 50 overs, Safwaan Imitiaz and Daniel Magin both hitting 6o each, and Jahid Ahmed with a brilliant 5 for 28 bowling spell. The home side had three deliveries to spare as she hit her winning target 241 for 7, Brendan Louw 80, Elliot Hooper 3 for 43.

In a very low scoring game, Sevenoaks Vine beat Tunbridge Wells by nine wickets, having knocked out their opponents for just 86, Andrew Reid-Dick 4 for 31, Matt Dalton 3 for 15. Luke Schlemmer scored 46, as Vine was heading for an easy victory. .

St Lawrence and Highland Court, and Holmesdale, are on course for promotion from the Premier League, with Linden Park still with an away chance, 12 points separating the three clubs. St Lawrence surprisingly floundered at Hesketh Park, losing by four wickets to Dartford. They were knocked out for 94, for 31.2 overs, Gurveer Singh Saina 3 for 19, and he then hit 31 as Dartford themselves battled for victory 97 for 6, Joe Payne 3 for 30.

Holmesdale took an emphatic 109-point victory over Canterbury, at Polo Farm, with a grand total of 338 for 6, thanks to a brilliant 143 from Carlos Maynard, with six sixes and 14 limits, Anthony Bissett 64, former Kent Second player Eleven Jarred Lysaught 3 for 71. In response the home side were knocked out for 229, Fred Sharp 64, Ben Line 46, Ben Fawcitt 3 for 34.

There was heartache for the Old Wilsonians, who now look likely candidates to join relegated Bromley Common, after a one-point home loss to Linden Park. The visitors made 219, Tom Corner 69, Graeme Francis 65, Matt Golding 4 for 31, Ishmail September 3 for 36. Golding then scored 56 as the Wilsonians completed their 50 overs on 218 for 9, Sadiq Hassan 3 for 25 .

Bromley Common lost by 83 runs, at home to Folkestone, all on 153 answering the visitors 236. In the Folkestone innings, Shab Sheik scored 52 and Jackson Isakka 42. Vidur Goel 3 for 47, James Cramp 3 for 47.

Bromley won at The Mote by three wickets, hitting their winning target, 239 for 7 in 45.1 overs after the Maidstone-based side posted 235 for 5, Matt White 113, Vish Parakirama 73, Lewis Hickford 62 and Fred Wilson 41 among visitors. to win.

By Peter Burrowes

The Spitfire Ground, St Lawrence will once again host a full England Women’s One-Day International (WODI) match in 2022, with a Royal London WODI v India under floodlights in Canterbury on Wednesday 21 September.

Buy tickets now


Comments are closed.